DeLonjay first to earn two straight

November 23, 2012 0 Comments

Steven DeLonjay

Four track titles before his 21st birthday.

Back-to-back championships in the UMP modified series, which if not the toughest division at the track (UMP late model fans will side with their guys), it’s one of the top two.

And now, the first driver to win back-to-back Stevie Dirt Driver of the Year awards in any of the Bullring’s weekly series.

Meet Steven DeLonjay, the son of legendary Hall of Famer Hank “The Crank” DeLonjay, who is carving out his own legendary career at 8000 Broadway. Junior DeLonjay’s award was cemented away in the second half of the season when he dominated a tough and talented field.

It’s almost scary at times watching No. 35 on the track. For the most part, he drives the same line as his dad used to en route to winning 13 track championships. And that he employs the same number on the side of his car as his pop makes it even scarier — in a good way, of course.

Can DeLonjay make it three straight titles in 2013? I would feel confident in saying there is far less doubt in that possibility than a year ago at this time when we asked if he could win two in a row.

In the five years of these awards, DeLonjay has either been Driver of the year or a First Row selection (three times). Another interesting note in that regard: Jared Schlipman, who has yet to win a Driver of the Year honor, now has three consecutive First Row positions.


2012: Steven DeLonjay
2011: Steven DeLonjay
2010: Michael Long
2009: Justin Reed
2008: Michael Long

2012: Dave Wietholder, Jared Schlipman
2011: Jared Schlipman, Michael Long
2010: Jared Schlipman, Steven DeLonjay
2009: Michael Long, Steven DeLonjay
2008: Tony Dunker, Steven DeLonjay

2012: Michael Long, Shawn Deering
2011: Dave Wietholder, Shawn Deering
2010: Dave Wietholder, Justin Reed
2009: Tony Dunker, Vance Wilson
2008: Robbie Reed, Dave Wietholder

Filed in: Uncategorized

About the Author:

Leave a Reply