Powers tabbed Hobby Stock Driver of Year

November 19, 2012 0 Comments

Jake Powers: Hobby Stock Driver of the Year

It’s a shame the hobby stocks are now a part of track history at Quincy Raceways, but we can all take some comfort in knowing their final season was one of the series’ finest.

Track champion Jake Powers is our Driver of the Year in this class and headlines our fifth annual All-Dirt Team selections in the hobby stock division. He had the dominant car for the majority of the season, won more features (7) and more overall races (16) than any of his challengers. “The Snake” also proved he can come from behind. He lost the championship lead late in the summer, but rallied down the stretch to defeat Brandon Symmonds by 10 points.

This is Powers’ third inclusion on the All-Dirt team. He also had a first-row selection in 2011 and a second-row pick in 2009. For the other four members of this season’s team, it is the first selection for each.

Of the dozen or so cars that were on hand most weeks, no fewer than eight were capable of winning a feature on any given Sunday night — and that’s what made this class exciting.

Times change, and as race fans we have to change with them. The hobbies will be missed, but let it be said they gave us a good show during their final dirt-track rodeo.


2012: Jake Powers
2011: Steve Carlin
2010: Bobby Anders
2009: Steve Carlin
2008: Aaron Brocksieck

2012: Brandon Symmonds, Tanner Klingele
2011: Jake Powers, Bobby Anders
2010: Steve Carlin, Jim Powell
2009: Jim Powell, Mike Wiley
2008: Wes Mayfield, Steve Carlin

2012: Brian Hoener, Jeff DeLonjay
2011: Nathan Anders, Jim Powell
2010: Jeremy Buss, Jim Brown
2009: Jake Powers, Travis Booher
2008: James Leffew, Jim Powell

Filed in: Uncategorized

About the Author:

Leave a Reply