Late model trend continues

February 2, 2014 0 Comments

2014QRLogoWhat’s that old axiom about “youth being served?” Well, maybe, but not necessarily at Quincy Raceways in the late model division.

For the 16th time the past 18 seasons, the late model track champ was 30 or older. Jared Schlipman, 26, was the top under-30 driver in 2013 when he finished sixth in points.

The most recent under-30 track champs have been Justin Reed in 2011 and the late Brent Slocum in 2002. Prior to that, you have to venture back to Mark Burgtorf’s early years behind the wheel when he rattled off track titles in 1992, 1993, 1994 and 1995.


2013: Jared Schlipman (6th in points)
2012: Dustin Griffin (2nd)
2011: Justin Reed (CHAMPION)
2010: Justin Reed (2nd)
2009: Justin Reed (2nd)
2008: Justin Reed (3rd)
2007: Justin Reed (5th)
2006: Joey Gower (4th)
2005: Brian Kenning (4th)
2004: Brent Slocum (2nd)
2003: Brent Slocum (3rd)
2002: Brent Slocum (CHAMPION)
2001: Brent Slocum (2nd)
2000: Brent Slocum (4th)
1999: Chris Smyser (3rd)
1998: Brent Slocum (2nd)
1997: Jason Frankel (2nd)
1996: Jason Frankel (6th)
1995: Mark Burgtorf (CHAMPION)
1994: Mark Burgtorf (CHAMPION)
1993: Mark Burgtorf (CHAMPION)
1992: Mark Burgtorf (CHAMPION)
1991: Lonnie Bailey (2nd)
1990: Lonnie Bailey (3rd)
1989: Lonnie Bailey (3rd)

Filed in: Uncategorized

About the Author:

Leave a Reply