Is this the season “16” is erased?

March 22, 2014 1 Comment
Wyatt Lantz

Wyatt Lantz

For five years now, we have had a conversation much like this one at some point during the racing season — or in this case, the preseason.

We talk about what Wyatt Lantz accomplished on June 14, 2009, and how it has stood the test of time.

Lantz started 16th in the modified feature that evening — and won. No one since has started deeper in a feature field since and took the checkers. (Ironically, the same night Lantz started 16th and won, Jim Powell started 15th in the now-defunct hobby stock lineup and also won!)

2014QRLogoBack on that June night in mid-2009, what Lantz accomplished didn’t seem like that big of a deal. Don’t get me wrong, the night he did it was fun to watch unfold, but never did I think that accomplishment would have gone untouched like it has.

Realistically, what has helped make Lantz’s effort remain No. 1 for so long has been a combination of diminished car counts in some classes, and in some cases a different way of setting the (larger) feature fields. In particular, the late models and modifieds now normally have their fastest cars starting up front, which all but eliminates the possibility of someone coming from near or at the rear of the field and winning.

Here’s a look at the Bullring drivers who have started the deepest and won in the regular weekly series since Lantz turned his trick.


Late models
Denny Woodworth, started 12th, June 20, 2010
Denny Woodworth, 10th, Aug. 8, 2010
Denny Woodworth, 10th, June 27, 2010
Justin Reed, 10th, June 6, 2010
Mark Burgtorf, 10th, Aug. 2, 2009.

Best 2013 effort: Michael Long started 8th, June 2.

Wyatt Lantz, 16th, June 14, 2009
Michael Long, 13th, Aug. 1, 2010
Michael Long, 12th, Aug. 22, 2010
Michael Long, 11th, April 1, 2012
Justin reed, 11th, July 12, 2009
Michael Long, 10th, May 10, 2009
Michael Long, 10th, April 26, 2009

Best 2013 effort: Shawn Deering started 7th, Aug. 18.

Sport mods

Tony Dunker, 10th, April 8, 2012
Tony Dunker, 10th, April 1, 2012

Best 2012 effort: Tony Dunker started 9th, May 12, May 19, Aug. 4, Aug. 11, Aug. 25.

Stock cars
Aaron Brocksieck, 11th, July 8, 2012
Jim Lynch, 10th, May 12, 2013

Best 2013 effort: Jim Lynch started 10th, May 12.

Sport compacts

Kim Abbott, 12th, May 29, 2012
Casey Lambert, 10th, May 13, 2012

Best 2013 effort: Pat Dunker started 10th, July 14.

Hobby stocks (class discontinued after 2012 season)
Jim Powell, 15th, June 28, 2009
Steve Carlin, 10th, Aug. 29, 2010
Steve Carlin, 10th, Aug, 8, 2010
Bobby Anders, 10th, April 18, 2010

Filed in: Uncategorized

About the Author:

Comments (1)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. race fan says:

    Sure wish he would come back! It was always fun watching him and the others battle it out!

Leave a Reply